The Royal Museum of Fine Arts Antwerp (KMSKA) is a public scientific institution of the Government of Flanders. With its vast collection of art, it is a leading research centre in the field of Flemish cultural heritage.

Studying the collection pieces and their history is one of the museum’s core assignments.
The findings of this research are recorded in the collection catalogue, a scientific instrument that is essential to various aspects of the museum’s activities, including acquisitions, conservation and restoration, collection access, education and presentations.
Four specific lines of research supplement this fundamental work. A first area of study is the origin of the exquisite museum collection. Second, systematic research is conducted into the unique Peter Paul Rubens subcollection. More recently, a research programme has been launched into the work of James Ensor, an artist of whom KMSKA possesses the world’s largest collection. And last but not least, the museum publishes a scientific annual. This and other museum publications, alongside the institution’s involvement in training programmes and other collaborations, form the spearhead of KMSKA’s knowledge dissemination

James Ensor, Schilderend geraamte

Stay up to date with the latest research news.

Newsflash: The museum researchers organised the symposium Ensor's Creative Process: Technique, Concept, Image. 

Portrait of one of the museum's researchers

Meet the researchers of KMSKA.

Discover who they are and what they do.

A researcher is studting one of Rubens' paintings

The museum possesses around thirty paintings and oil sketches by Rubens.

The museum's Rubens research focuses on all of the collection pieces by or attributed to the Master.

Museum offices

Lange Kievitstraat 111-113 bus 100, B-2018 Antwerpen

T +32 (0)3 224 95 50

Ce site web porte le label AnySurfer, une marque de qualité belge pour les sites accessibles.

Vous trouverez plus d'information sur www.anysurfer.be.

Recherches

print

Le Musée Royal des Beaux-Arts d’Anvers est une institution scientifique du Gouvernement flamand. Sa riche collection d'œuvres d'art est en fait un important centre de recherches du patrimoine flamand.

L’étude des pièces de collection et de leur histoire est une mission essentielle du musée. Les résultats de cette étude sont réunis dans le catalogue de la collection, instrument scientifique à la base de l’activité du musée: acquisition, conservation et restauration, diffusion, éducation et présentation.
Ce travail fondamental se complète de quatre objectifs d’études spécifiques. La formation de la précieuse collection du musée constitue un premier champ d’investigation. Parallèlement, un examen systématique approfondit les connaissances de l’exceptionnelle collection Peter Paul Rubens. Récemment, le musée a aussi lancé un programme de recherches consacré à l’œuvre de James Ensor. Le KMSKA possède en effet la plus grande collection d’œuvres d’Ensor au monde. Et enfin, le musée édite chaque année une publication scientifique: Jaarboek Koninklijk Museum voor Schone Kunsten Antwerpen (Annales du Musée Royal des Beaux-Arts d’Anvers). Les annales et autres publications du musée, en marge de ses accords de collaboration et de sa participation aux formations, garantissent une diffusion active du savoir.
 

Peter Paul Rubens, L' Incrédulité de Thomas, KMSKA

Restez informé des dernières nouvelles concernant les recherches.

Flash d'information: Une nouvelle édition du Rubensbulletin est paru en ligne. Les quatre contributions sont de la plume de Nico van Hout, Ank Adriaans - van Schaik, Alexander Mossel et Christine Van Mulders.

Portait d'un chercheur

Rencontrez les chercheurs du KMSKA.

Découvrez nos chercheurs et l’objet de leurs travaux.

Un chercheur est en train d'examiner un oeuvre de Rubens

Le musée possède une trentaine de tableaux et d’esquisses à l’huile de Rubens.

L’étude de la sous-collection Rubens examine toutes les œuvres de la collection du musée signées par le maître ou lui étant attribuées.

Services administratifs

Lange Kievitstraat 111-113 bus 100, B-2018 Antwerpen

T +32 (0)3 224 95 50