This website received the AnySurfer label, a quality mark for accessible websites in Belgium.

For more information, please visit www.anysurfer.be.

The Museum Annual

print

KMSKA has been publishing a scientific annual since 1960.

Antwerp Royal Museum Annual

The 2009 edition of the Antwerp Royal Museum Annual has just appeared. The series is the continuation of Jaarboek Koninklijk Museum voor Schone Kunsten Antwerpen, a publication whose launch in 1960 provided a platform for the museum to participate in the scientific arena, under the successive editorship of Gilberte Gepts-Buysaert (1960-1967), Adolf Monballieu (1968-1982) and Julien Vervaet (1983-1998).
From 1965 onwards, the annual frequently included critical stylistic analyses and archival research findings by prominent Flemish art historians such as Jozef Duverger, Hans Vlieghe, Erik Duverger and Carl Van de Velde. In a subsequent phase, Francophone researchers such as Cathéline Périer d'Ieteren and Didier Martens also became regular contributors. Adolf Monballieu, a researcher associated with KMSKA, published various studies on Bruegel and contemporaries that remain relevant to this day. The annual has, moreover, included notable iconographic contributions by Keith Moxey on Beuckelaer (1976), by Paul Huvenne on the ethnographically important ‘costume book’ by Lambert De Vos (1978), Ethan Kavaler&'s article on Bruegel (1986) and three iconological studies by Leo Wuyts (1987).

Facelift

For four decades, the museum annual was published mainly in Dutch, with occasional foreign-language contributions. Seen in the context of Flanders' historical process of linguistic empowerment, the initial choice for Dutch was quite understandable. However, it also implied that the articles published barely registered on the international scientific radar. In other words, the content of the art-historical research conducted by or under the auspices of KMSKA went largely unnoticed beyond Flanders and the Netherlands. This, in turn, held the danger of a relaxation of the criteria for inclusion. In 1999, Paul Huvenne, the new director of the museum, embarked on a different editorial course: standards for inclusion were tightened and henceforth the annual would appear in English, under the scientific editorship of Dr. Paul Vandenbroeck. The annual typically takes one of three forms: there are collections of studies on a single topic, monographic volumes, and volumes containing miscellaneous contributions in terms of both content and approach. The annual also provides room for innovative approaches alongside more ‘traditional’ art-historical studies.

Thematic Volumes

On the occasion of some particularly noteworthy exhibitions at KMSKA, thematic volumes of the annual have been devoted to Antony van Dyck (1999), female artists (2002), and Antwerp mannerism (2004-05). The 2008 edition consisted of a monographic study by Nico Van Hout on ‘deadcolouring’. Other volumes focus on iconographic issues. The 2009 edition contains four articles providing divergent perspectives on the artistic tradition that developed from the peculiar story in the Gospel about the ‘woman with an issue of blood’ who touches the hem of Christ's garment in the hope of being cured… In this manner, the annual is helping to shape a new art-historical paradigm that draws on gender studies and other approaches, as in a number of contributions by exponents of a new generation of art historians such as Barbara Baert and Sofie Van Loo. The Antwerp Royal Museum Annual offers in-depth analyses about both canonical and more unfamiliar art-historical materials, with an openness towards a divergence of approaches, an eye for both intricate detail and the greater international picture, and a sensitivity to gender issues and the existential (‘anthropological’) scope and significance of the image.

All submitted articles are peer-reviewed by the members of the Editorial Board, which is comprised of Prof. Dr. Barabra Baert, KU Leuven, Prof. Dr. Anna Bergmans, UGent, Elizabeth Honig, PhD, UC Berkeley, Dr. Paul Huvenne, KMSKA, Prof. Dr. Brigitte Kurmann-Schwarz, Universität Zürich, Dr. Elizabeth McGrath, Dr. Sabine van Sprang, KMSKB-MRBAB. Other experts may also be called upon to review submissions.

share

Museum offices

Lange Kievitstraat 111-113 bus 100, B-2018 Antwerpen

T +32 (0)3 224 95 50

Ce site web porte le label AnySurfer, une marque de qualité belge pour les sites accessibles.

Vous trouverez plus d'information sur www.anysurfer.be.

Annales

print

Depuis 1960, le KMSKA édite des annales scientifiques.

Jaarboek Koninklijk Museum voor Schone Kunsten AntwerpenL'édition 2009 de l' Antwerp Royal Museum Annual, la revue scientifique autrefois intitulée Jaarboek Koninklijk Museum voor Schone Kunsten Antwerpen, a récemment paru. Dès 1960, cette publication a répondu au désir de faire jouer au musée un rôle sur le forum scientifique. La rédaction a d'abord été confiée au Dr Gilberte Gepts-Buysaert (1960-1967), puis au Dr Adolf Monballieu (1968-1982) et à Julien Vervaet (1983-1998).
À partir de 1965, on y a régulièrement publié des études critiques ou basées sur des recherches en archives menées par d'illustres historiens de l'art flamands tels que Jozef Duverger, Hans Vlieghe, Erik Duverger et Carl van de Velde. Plus tard, des scientifiques francophones comme Cathéline Périer d'Ieteren et Didier Martens publieront plusieurs fois leurs travaux dans ces annales. Adolf Monballieu, attaché au KMSKA, a publié diverses études sur Bruegel et ses contemporains: malgré le temps, ces études ont conservé toute leur valeur. En outre, les annales contiennent aussi des contributions iconographiques telles que l'étude de Beuckelaer par Keith Moxey (1976), les recherches menées par Paul Huvenne sur l'importance ethnographique du "kostuumboek" (livre des costumes) de Lambert De Vos (1978), l'article d' Ethan Kavaler sur Bruegel (1986), ainsi que trois études iconologiques de Leo Wuyts (1987).

Une forme nouvelle

Durant quatre décennies, la langue des annales a été le néerlandais, avec de temps à autre, un article d'un chercheur étranger rédigé dans une autre langue. La prise de conscience flamande qui a marqué ces années explique naturellement ce choix. Il s'est cependant avéré extrêmement difficile, voire impossible, à ces travaux de percer dans la communauté scientifique internationale. Par conséquent, les recherches historiques et artistiques du KMSKA ont trop souvent été méconnues au-delà des frontières de la Flandre et des Pays-Bas. Les critères de sélection des articles à publier menaçaient de se relâcher. C'est en 1999 que le nouveau directeur du musée, Dr. Paul Huvenne, a décidé d'inverser le mouvement et de faire paraître les annales sous une nouvelle forme. Les annales seraient désormais rédigées en anglais et le contenu ferait l'objet d'une sélection plus sévère. Dr Paul Vandenbroeck est responsable de la rédaction scientifique. Trois formes de parution ont été maintenues: compilation d'études autour d'un thème, volumes monographiques et mélanges de projets et de sujets variés. En marge des études historiques et artistiques "classiques", une attention particulière a été apportée à des approches innovantes.

Années thématiques

Certaines expositions remarquables organisées au KMSKA ont donné lieu à la parution d’années thématiques consacrées à Antoon van Dyck (1999), aux femmes artistes (2002), et au maniérisme anversois (2004-05). Ces éditions ont conjugué les retombées scientifiques des expositions Antoon van Dyck, Elck sijn waerom et Extravagant!. L'année 2008 a été marquée par la publication de l'étude du Dr. Nico van Hout sur la"dead colour" (ou couleur morte). D'autres volumes ont réuni des études iconographiques. Ainsi, l'année 2009 contient quatre articles analysant sous des angles différents cette histoire étrange de l'Évangile dans laquelle la femme « hémorragique » touche la frange du manteau de Jésus dans l'espoir de guérir… Un nouveau paradigme historique et artistique, alimenté par des études de genre et d'autres approches, se dégage ici, notamment dans certaines contributions récentes d'une nouvelle génération d'historiennes de l'art, comme Barbara Baert et Sofie van Loo. Les annales du KMSKA véhiculent une connaissance fouillée du matériel canonique et des sources historiques et artistiques hors du commun, offrant une ouverture à des analyses divergentes, un œil pour les détails tout comme pour les grands rapports internationaux, une sensibilité aux aspects relatifs au genre, à la charge existentielle ("anthropologique") et à la portée de l'image.

share

Services administratifs

Lange Kievitstraat 111-113 bus 100, B-2018 Antwerpen

T +32 (0)3 224 95 50