This website received the AnySurfer label, a quality mark for accessible websites in Belgium.

For more information, please visit www.anysurfer.be.

The Building of a Collection

print

The Royal Museum of Fine Arts Antwerp studies the origin and history of its own collection.

Central to the study of the history of the collection are the museum's acquisitions policy and the important role of donors. Donations and bequests by private individuals have helped define today's museum collection. Many of these historical donors were, for that matter, quite familiar with the institution and its holdings. Quite often they were involved professionally with the workings of the museum, be it as public servants, as art dealers or otherwise. Others held positions within the museum itself or came into regular contact with the institution through their membership of sophisticated circles and artistic societies. Their contributions to the collection were inspired not only by the examples provided by the museum's exhibitions and purchases, or the policies of its curators, but also by a sense that there were lacunae in the official acquisitions policy.

Donors

Het kabinet van Dr Ludo van Bogaert-SheidThis research focuses primarily on individual sponsors of the museum. What was the nature of the relationships between artists, art dealers, curators and other art enthusiast who made up the socio-cultural environment of KMSKA? An account of their role in Antwerp's cultural life sheds light on the contemporary societal role of the museum. It is thanks to the personal preferences of influential donors such as the Franck family and baron Ludo van Bogaert-Sheid that some important subcollections saw the light of day.

Sources

The research relies largely on KMSKA's in-house archives. This extensive collection of documents includes acquisition records and minutes of board meetings, as well as unique correspondence with donors. In addition, archival sources of other institutions are studied.

Output

The research results will be published in 2014 in a follow-up publication to the 2008 book on the history of the museum.

Download the list of publications on this topic by museum staff (PDF, 72,1 kB).
 

share

Museum offices

Lange Kievitstraat 111-113 bus 100, B-2018 Antwerpen

T +32 (0)3 224 95 50

Ce site web porte le label AnySurfer, une marque de qualité belge pour les sites accessibles.

Vous trouverez plus d'information sur www.anysurfer.be.

Formation de la collection

print

Le Musée Royal des Beaux-Arts d’Anvers étudie la manière dont sa collection s'est constituée.

La politique d'acquisition du musée et le rôle prépondérant qu'y jouent les donations se situent au cœur de l'étude de la formation de la collection. Les donations et legs de particuliers ont en effet marqué de leur empreinte la composition actuelle de la collection du musée. La plupart des donateurs connaissaient bien l'institution. Ils ont occupé une fonction publique ou exercé une activité professionnelle liée au musée (dans le commerce d'objets d'art par exemple), ils ont travaillé au musée ou sont entrés en relation avec le KMSKA par la voie de la vie mondaine et associative. Leurs apports ne sont pas que les fruits de l'inspiration suscitée par les expositions, les achats ou la gestion des conservateurs du musée; les contributions des donateurs ont aussi comblé les lacunes de la politique d'achat officielle.

Donateurs

Le bureaux de Dr Ludo van Bogaert-SheidLes recherches portent essentiellement sur les bienfaiteurs individuels. Quelles relations les liaient aux artistes, marchands d'art, conservateurs et autres amateurs d'art qui composaient autrefois le tissu social entourant le KMSKA? La description de leur contribution à la vie culturelle d'Anvers place le rôle social moderne du musée sous un jour nouveau. C'est grâce au goût personnel de mécènes influents tels que la famille Franck ou le baron Ludo van Bogaert-Sheid que d'importantes sous-collections ont vu le jour.

Sources

Les recherches sont essentiellement effectuées dans les propres archives du KMSKA. Outre les dossiers d'acquisition et les rapports de gestion, cet abondant fichier contient également la correspondance tenue avec les donateurs. On complémente le tout en consultant des archives extérieures.

Résultats

Les résultats de ces recherches déboucheront sur une publication qui paraîtra en 2014, s'inscrivant dans la continuité de l'ouvrage de 2008 sur l'histoire du KMSKA.

Téléchargez la liste des publications des collaborateurs du musée (PDF, 72,1 kB) déjà parues sur ce thème.
 

share

Services administratifs

Lange Kievitstraat 111-113 bus 100, B-2018 Antwerpen

T +32 (0)3 224 95 50