This website received the AnySurfer label, a quality mark for accessible websites in Belgium.

For more information, please visit www.anysurfer.be.

Rubens Study Days

print

As part of its ongoing Rubens project, KMSKA organised a seminar on 14 and 15 October 2010. The conference provided an opportunity for international Rubens experts and restorers to discuss the interim research findings of the project.

In 2011, the museum closed its doors for several years with a view to an extensive renovation programme. During this period, the large altarpieces by Rubens are to remain in safe storage, so that they will be inaccessible. It was therefore decided by the Rubens project research team that these paintings should be given research priority prior to the temporary closure. Over the past year, the primary focus has been on the Coup de Lance (inv. 297) and on the Last Communion of St Francis (inv. 305), both of which were created for the former Church of the Friars Minor in Antwerp.

The State of Research

During the morning session, project collaborators provided updates on the state of research. Valérie Herremans elucidated the purpose, context and iconography of the paintings. Nico Van Hout presented an overview of findings regarding the creative process underlying the compositions and the painterly technique of Rubens. Arnout Balis discussed the role of Anthony Van Dyck in Rubens's studio. Lizet Klaassen spoke about the condition and the restoration history of the works. The presentations were followed by intense and informative debate. In the afternoon, the participants were provided with a close-up view of The Coup de Lance and the Last Communion of St Francis from specially constructed platforms. This allowed them to assess and discuss certain research findings further.
The research team of the KMSKA's Rubens project and the seminar participants expressed their intention to organise such seminars on a regular basis for the purpose of testing and supplementing the findings of the museum’s ongoing Rubens research.

share

Museum offices

Lange Kievitstraat 111-113 bus 100, B-2018 Antwerpen

T +32 (0)3 224 95 50

Ce site web porte le label AnySurfer, une marque de qualité belge pour les sites accessibles.

Vous trouverez plus d'information sur www.anysurfer.be.

Journées d’étude du projet Rubens

print

Dans le cadre du projet Rubens, le Musée Royal des Beaux-Arts d'Anvers a organisé des journées d'étude, les 14 et 15 octobre 2010. Des experts et restaurateurs internationaux de Rubens ont participé au congrès et discuté des résultats provisoires des recherches.

En 2011, le musée a fermé ses portes pour des travaux de rénovation qui dureront plusieurs années. Pendant cette période, les imposants retables de Rubens seront mis en lieu sûr et ne seront donc pas accessibles. Cela a incité l'équipe d'étude du projet Rubens à donner la priorité à l'étude de ces peintures. L'année dernière, l'équipe s'est concentrée sur le Christ en croix "Le coup de lance" (inv. 297) et la Dernière communion de Saint François d'Assise (inv. 305), deux œuvres réalisées pour l'ancienne église des Frères Cordeliers à Anvers.

État des lieux

Au programme de la matinée : des conférences au cours desquelles les collaborateurs du projet ont fait le point sur les études en question. Valérie Herremans a exposé la mission, le contexte et l'iconographie des tableaux. Nico van Hout a donné un aperçu des conclusions relatives au processus d'élaboration des compositions et de la technique picturale de Rubens. Arnout Balis a approfondi la question du rôle de Van Dyck dans l'atelier de Rubens. Lizet Klaassen a parlé de l'état et du passé de restauration des œuvres. Chaque conférence a été suivie de discussions animées et enrichissantes. L'après-midi, les invités ont eu la chance de pouvoir examiner depuis l'échafaudage Christ en croix "Le coup de lance" et la Dernière communion de Saint François d'Assise. Cela leur a permis de mettre certains résultats de recherches en regard les uns des autres, et d'en débattre.
'équipe d'étude du projet Rubens du KMSKA et les invités ont enfin exprimé leur souhait d'organiser régulièrement de telles journées d'étude, afin de confronter et de compléter les résultats de l'étude Rubens.

share

Services administratifs

Lange Kievitstraat 111-113 bus 100, B-2018 Antwerpen

T +32 (0)3 224 95 50