This website received the AnySurfer label, a quality mark for accessible websites in Belgium.

For more information, please visit www.anysurfer.be.

Who’s Who

print

Meet the KMSKA Researchers.

Portrait of Siska BeeleSiska Beele

Siska Beele studied art at the University of Leuven (K.U. Leuven). She has been associated with KMSKA since 1980, consecutively as an educational officer, an exhibition officer, a chief educational officer, and finally as a researcher. Her main scholarly interests lie in Belgian art from the 19th century and the history of the museum and its collections. She is presently preparing a printed catalogue of all of paintings in the museum collection. Siska Beele is also collaborating on extramural exhibitions during the temporary closure of the museum, such as Bruegelland at the Municipal Museum in Lier and The MODERNS at Koningin Fabiolazaal (KFZ) in Antwerp.

Download a list of selected publications (PDF, 65,8 kB)

   

Portrait of Valérie HerremansValérie Herremans

Valérie Herremans studied art at the University of Leuven (K.U. Leuven) and obtained a PhD from Brussels University (VUB) in 2007. She has worked with the Collection Research Department of KMSKA since 2007. Her scholarly interest lies in sculpture and miniature architecture from the seventeenth century in particular. She is presently participating in the Rubens project and in a project on artistic exchange with New Spain in collaboration with the Centre for Mexican Studies of the University of Antwerp. In addition, she is preparing a publication on pieces in the museum's Rubens collection created for Antwerp churches that no longer exist. She is also working on a volume in the Corpus Rubenianum Ludwig Burchard devoted to Rubens's designs for architectural sculpture.

Download a list of selected publications, lectures and mandates (PDF, 86 kB)

Portrait of Nanny SchrijversNanny Schrijvers

Nanny Schrijvers obtained her licentiate's degree in the History of Art and Archaeology, with a specialist option in the plastic arts, from Ghent University in 1975. She initially worked as an associate staff member with KMSKA's Educational Department and became a full-time staff member of the PR Department in 1994. She has been working with the Collection Research Department since April 2001 and is presently bringing the collection catalogue up to international standards. In addition, she contributes to publications and projects stemming from this collection research, with special focus on the history and growth of the museum collection.

Download a list of selected publications, lectures and mandates (PDF, 94,7 kB)

 

Portrait of Herwig TodtsHerwig Todts

Herwig Todts is a graduate in the History of Art and Archaeology from the University of Ghent (UGent). He worked for the daily De Standaard from 1986 to 1993 and joined the Collection Research team in 1984. From 2001 to 2005, he served as an acting departmental head of the PR Department. He organises exhibitions, both in the museum and at host venues, and publishes on 19th- and 20th-century art. His main research focus is on the oeuvre of James Ensor . His systematic study of the Ensor collection will result in the publication of subcatalogues of drawings, paintings, documents and archival materials, and in exhibitions in Japan, Copenhagen, Switzerland and the United States.

Download a list of selected publications and mandates (PDF, 102 kB)

Portrait of Paul VandenbroeckPaul Vandenbroeck

Paul Vandenbroeck has worked with the Collection Research Department since 1980 and he has held a part-time professorship with the Social Sciences Faculty of K.U. Leuven since 2003. He is an Art graduate from that same university and obtained his PhD in 1986. His main research interests are the oeuvre of Hieronymus Bosch, abstract North African textile art, contemporary art and topics on the interface between art and anthropology, including the relationship between folk and elite culture, the specificity of art in female religious communities and the relationship between therapeutic ritual and artistic creation. Paul Vandenbroeck is also the scientific editor of the museum Annual and he is preparing an exhibition entitled La vivante on the energetics of aesthetic creation, which will take place in 2013 at the Palais des Beaux-Arts in Lille (France).

Download a list of selected publications and mandates (PDF, 82,7 kB)

Portrait of Greta Van BroeckhovenGreta Van Broeckhoven

Greta Van Broeckhoven studied History of Art and Archaeology, specialising in Medievalism and the Modern Era, at the University of Brussels (VUB). She graduated with a thesis on the oeuvre of Georges Lemmen. After working with the International Cultural Centre in Antwerp from 1982 to 1990, she joined the scientific team of KMSKA. She conducts research and organises exhibitions on 20th-century art production, a topic on which she also publishes frequently. In line with her work at the ICC, her research focus has been primarily on new concepts and ideologies, and on the associated interdisciplinary nature of art in the 1980s and 90s. In 1999, she contributed to the museum's recognition as a knowledge centre by outlining a policy for the museum archives and documentation centre.

Download a list of selected publications, lectures and mandates (PDF, 106 kB)

Portrait of Nico Van HoutNico Van Hout

Nico Van Hout studied art history and archaeology at the University of Ghent, as well as restoration and conservation at the National Higher Institute of Fine Arts in Antwerp, and he obtained a PhD from Leuven University in 2005. He has been a member of the Collection Research team since 2001 and a co-organiser of various exhibitions at host venues during the museum's temporary closure for renovation. His scientific interest lies in the field of the creative process and the material-technical aspects of Flemish 17th-century painting. He is also involved as a researcher in the Rubens project. Nico Van Hout publishes on the distribution in print of the work of Peter Paul Rubens. He is currently preparing an exhibition on Rubens's artistic legacy in collaboration with the Royal Academy in London. Van Hout is also working on vol. XX (1) of the Corpus Rubenianum Ludwig Burchard, which will deal with 'Study Heads'. Last but not least, he publishes on ‘the unfinished’ in art.

Download a list of selected publications, lectures and mandates (PDF, 77,5 kB)

Portrait of Christine Van MuldersChristine Van Mulders

Christine Van Mulders studied Art History at the University of Brussels (VUB). She has been with the Collection Research Department since 2006, where she coordinates the Rubens project and manages the digitalised Rubens visual database, as well as the phototheque and documentation of the Rubens project. Her main scholarly interest lies in painting, drawing and engraving in the Southern Netherlands of the 16th and 17th centuries and, more specifically, the School of Frans Floris, Jan Brueghel I and II and Peter Paul Rubens. She is presently finalising a manuscript for the Corpus Rubenianum Ludwig Burchard, vol. XXVII(1), on The Works of Rubens in Collaboration with Jan Brueghel I and II (2012).

Download a list of selected publications, lectures and mandates (PDF, 116 kB)

share

Museum offices

Lange Kievitstraat 111-113 bus 100, B-2018 Antwerpen

T +32 (0)3 224 95 50

Ce site web porte le label AnySurfer, une marque de qualité belge pour les sites accessibles.

Vous trouverez plus d'information sur www.anysurfer.be.

Qui est qui?

print

Faites connaissance avec les chercheurs du Musée Royal des Beaux-Arts d’Anvers.

Portrait de Siska BeeleSiska Beele

Siska Beele a étudié les sciences de l'art à l'Université catholique de Louvain. Depuis 1980, elle est attachée au KMSKA, successivement en tant que collaboratrice éducative, collaboratrice d'exposition, responsable éducative et chercheuse. Son intérêt scientifique porte sur l'art belge du XIXe siècle, et sur l'histoire du musée et de ses collections. Elle prépare actuellement un catalogue imprimé de tous les tableaux. En marge de cela, elle participe aux expositions de collection extra-muros organisées en raison de la fermeture du musée, comme l'exposition Bruegelland au Musée municipal de Lierre et Les MODERNES à l'endroit du Koningin Fabiolazaal à Anvers.

Téléchargez une liste contenant une sélection de ses publications (PDF, 65,8 kB) 

  

   

Portrait de Valérie HerremansValérie Herremans

  Valérie Herremans a étudié les sciences de l'art à l'Université catholique de Louvain et a passé son doctorat en 2007 à l'Université Libre flamande de Bruxelles. Depuis 2007, elle est employée au sein du département d'Étude de la collection. Son intérêt scientifique porte sur la sculpture et l'architecture mineure, en particulier celle du XVIIe siècle. Elle participe actuellement au projet Rubens et à un projet du Centre d'Études Mexicaines à l'Université d'Anvers, sur les échanges artistiques avec la Nouvelle-Espagne. En marge de cela, elle prépare une publication dévoilant les œuvres de la sous-collection Rubens provenant d'églises anversoises aujourd'hui disparues. Elle travaille également à un volume du Corpus Rubenianum Ludwig Burchard consacré aux études que Rubens a réalisées pour la sculpture architecturale.

Téléchargez une liste contenant une sélection de ses publications, conférences et mandats (PDF, 86 kB)

Portrait de Nanny SchrijversNanny Schrijvers

Nanny Schrijvers a obtenu en 1975 son diplôme de licence en histoire de l'art et de l'antiquité à l'Université de Gand (UGent), orientation Arts plastiques. Elle a d'abord travaillé au département d'Éducation en tant que collaboratrice détachée, puis à plein-temps au sein du département de Relations publiques à partir de 1994. En poste au département d'Étude de la collection depuis le mois d'avril 2001, elle œuvre à la réalisation du catalogue de la collection d'après des standards et thésaurus internationaux. En marge de cela, elle prend part à des publications et projets découlant de cette étude de la collection, en se concentrant principalement sur l'histoire et l'évolution de la collection du musée.

Téléchargez une liste contenant une sélection de ses publications, conférences et mandats (PDF, 94,7 kB)

 

Portrait de Herwig TodtsHerwig Todts

Herwig Todts a étudié les sciences de l'art et de l'antiquité à l'Université de Gand (UGent). De 1986 à 1993, il a travaillé pour le quotidien De Standaard après avoir obtenu un poste de collaborateur scientifique au département d'Étude de la collection en 1984. De 2001 à 2005, il a assuré l'intérim du chef du département de Relations publiques. Il organise des expositions, au musée et en d'autres lieux, et publie au sujet de l'art du XIXe et XXe siècle. L'œuvre de James Ensor constitue son principal domaine de recherches. Son étude systématique de la sous-collection Ensor doit mener à la publication de catalogues des dessins, tableaux, documents et archives, ainsi qu'à l'organisation d'expositions au Japon, à Copenhague, en Suisse et aux États-Unis.

Téléchargez une liste contenant une sélection de ses publications et mandats (PDF, 102 kB)

 

Portrait de Paul VandenbroeckPaul Vandenbroeck

Depuis 1980, Paul Vandenbroeck est collaborateur au département d'Étude de la collection, un poste qu'il combine depuis 2003 avec celui de maître de conférences à temps partiel à la faculté des Sciences Sociales de l'Université catholique de Louvain. C'est aussi là qu'il a étudié les sciences de l'art et passé son doctorat en 1986. Son intérêt scientifique porte sur l'œuvre de Jheronimus Bosch, l'art du tissage abstrait nord-africain, l'art contemporain et toutes sortes de sujets se situant à la frontière de l'anthropologie: les points communs entre la culture populaire et la culture élitiste, les aspects spécifiques de l'art dans les communautés religieuses féminines et la relation entre le rituel thérapeutique et la création artistique. Paul Vandenbroeck est par ailleurs rédacteur scientifique des annales du musée, et prépare l'exposition La vivante. Celle-ci ouvrira ses portes en 2013 au Palais des Beaux-Arts de Lille et aura pour sujet l'énergétique de la création esthétique.

Téléchargez une liste contenant une sélection de ses publications et mandats (PDF,  82,7 kB)

 

Portrait de Greta Van BroeckhovenGreta van Broeckhoven

Greta van Broeckhoven a étudié les sciences de l'art et l'archéologie, orientation Moyen Âge/Temps Modernes, à l'Université Libre flamande de Bruxelles, où elle a rédigé un mémoire intitulé: Bijdrage tot de studie van het œuvre van Georges Lemmen (Participation à l'étude de l'œuvre de Georges Lemmen). De 1982 à 1990, elle a travaillé au Centre Culturel International (ICC) à Anvers. Depuis 1990, elle occupe le poste de collaboratrice scientifique au KMSKA. En marge des recherches qu'elle mène sur la production artistique du XXe siècle, elle organise des expositions sur ce sujet et publie régulièrement des écrits s'y rapportant. Dans le droit fil des activités de l'ICC, ses recherches portent essentiellement sur les nouveaux concepts et idéologies et, avec eux, sur le caractère interdisciplinaire de l'art des années 80 et 90 du XXe siècle. En 1999, elle a défini la gestion du service des archives et de la documentation, en fonction de la qualification du musée comme centre d'expertise.

Téléchargez une liste contenant une sélection de ses publications, conférences et mandats (PDF, 106 kB)

 

Portrait de Nico Van HoutNico van Hout

Nico van Hout a étudié les sciences de l'art et l'archéologie à l'Université de Gand, ainsi que la restauration et la conservation à l'Institut National des Beaux-Arts à Anvers. En 2005, il a passé son doctorat à l'Université catholique de Louvain. Collaborateur au département d’Étude de la collection depuis 2001, il travaille à différentes présentations de collections dans le cadre de la fermeture du KMSKA. Son intérêt scientifique porte sur le processus créatif et les aspects matériels et techniques de l'œuvre des maîtres flamands du XVIIe siècle. Van Hout participe au projet Rubens en tant que chercheur et publie au sujet de la diffusion de l'œuvre de Peter Paul Rubens par le biais de la graphique. En collaboration avec la Royal Academy à Londres, il prépare actuellement une exposition sur l'héritage artistique de Rubens. Il travaille également à la partie XX (1) du Corpus Rubenianum Ludwig Burchard qui traitera des "Study Heads" (études de têtes). En outre, il publie des articles sur l'inachevé dans l'art.

Téléchargez une liste contenant une sélection de ses publications, conférences et mandats (PDF, 77,5 kB)

 

Portrait de Christine Van MuldersChristine Van Mulders

Christine van Mulders a étudié les sciences de l'art à l'Université Libre flamande de Bruxelles. Depuis 2006, elle travaille au département d'Étude de la collection, où elle assure la coordination du projet Rubens et la gestion de la banque d'images numériques de Rubens, de la photothèque et de la documentation du projet Rubens. Son intérêt scientifique porte sur la peinture, le dessin et la gravure dans les Pays-Bas méridionaux des XVIe et XVIIe siècles, et plus particulièrement l'école de Frans Floris, Jan Bruegel I et II et Peter Paul Rubens). Actuellement, elle achève le manuscrit du Corpus Rubenianum Ludwig Burchard, vol. XXVII(1), The Works of Rubens in Collaboration with Jan Brueghel I and II (2012).

Téléchargez une liste contenant une sélection de ses publications, conférences et mandats (PDF, 116 kB)

share

Services administratifs

Lange Kievitstraat 111-113 bus 100, B-2018 Antwerpen

T +32 (0)3 224 95 50