This website received the AnySurfer label, a quality mark for accessible websites in Belgium.

For more information, please visit www.anysurfer.be.

Collection Catalogue

print
An article from the online collection catalogue

The collection catalogue contains scientific data on all the works held by the museum.

It is an inventory in which museum staff register, describe and document all the paintings, sculptures and graphic works that make up the collection. To guarantee data uniformity, the catalogue is compiled in accordance with international conventions. First and foremost, the inventory provides art-historical information about each object, ranging from artist and item identification to a description of the origin and provenance of the piece. It also details the exhibitions in which pieces have featured as well as any relevant publications. This data is constantly checked and updated on the basis of archival research and the literature. The inventory moreover describes the material characteristics of the object, including its dimensions, and provides information on loans as well as any conservation or restoration treatments undergone.

Digital Database

Collection digitalisation is one of the great challenges facing museums who wish to enhance the accessibility of their collections, for the benefit of the public as well as the international museological and scientific communities. In 2001, KMSKA took its first steps into the digital era with the introduction of a collection inventory operated through state-of-the-art software. The data are processed in accordance with international guidelines and standardised terminology, such as those provided by ICONCLASS. The online collection catalogue (in Dutch) has been accessible via the KMSKA website since 2010. It draws information from the internal database of the museum. The number of objects included continues to grow. The database also provides information to Vlaamse Kunstcollectie and digital museums such as that devoted to James Ensor . Improving the accessibility of the collection catalogue via the Internet is an absolute priority to the Collection Research Department.

Printed Catalogues

Using the digital database as a source, work was begun in 2010 on a new printed collection catalogue of all painted items in the museum collection. With this new publication, the museum intends to continue a long tradition of collection catalogues. Since the appearance of the previous painting catalogues (1977 and 1988), not only have strides been made in research, but the collection has also grown substantially. Conceived as a practical and up-to-date reference book providing a comprehensive overview of the extensive collections of paintings, the new catalogue will meet the requirements of scholars as well as visitors to the museum. Finally, the database provides a starting point for the compilation of subcatalogues as well as analogous and digital collection presentations.
 

share

Museum offices

Lange Kievitstraat 111-113 bus 100, B-2018 Antwerpen

T +32 (0)3 224 95 50

Ce site web porte le label AnySurfer, une marque de qualité belge pour les sites accessibles.

Vous trouverez plus d'information sur www.anysurfer.be.

Catalogue de la collection

print
Un article dans le catalogue de la collection en ligne

Le catalogue scientifique de la collection réunit les données de toutes les œuvres en possession du musée.

Dans cet inventaire, les collaborateurs du musée enregistrent, décrivent et documentent tous les tableaux, sculptures et œuvres graphiques de la collection. Par souci d'uniformité, ils se conforment aux conventions internationales. L'inventaire comporte d'une part des aspects relatifs aux sciences de l'art, pouvant aller de l'identification de l'artiste et de la représentation à l'histoire de la genèse de l'œuvre et de son acquisition. Sont également traitées: les expositions auxquelles une œuvre a participé et la littérature dans laquelle l'œuvre apparaît. Ces données sont ensuite systématiquement contrôlées et complétées sur la base de recherches dans les archives et la littérature. L'inventaire présente d'autre part les caractéristiques matérielles d'une œuvre, comme ses dimensions, et les données relatives aux prêts, à la conservation ou la restauration.

Fichier numérique

La numérisation de la collection est un défi contemporain majeur pour les musées qui désirent rendre leur collection plus accessible à un large public, ceci dans un contexte muséal et historico-artistique international. En 2001, le KMSKA a franchi une première étape dans l'ère numérique avec l'introduction d'un inventaire de la collection utilisant un logiciel de pointe. Ce sont les directives internationales et la terminologie professionnelle standardisée telle qu' ICONCLASS qui décident du traitement des données. Depuis 2010, le catalogue de la collection en ligne (en néerlandais), qui puise des informations dans la banque de données interne du musée, peut être consulté sur le site internet du KMSKA. Le nombre d'œuvres consultables augmente continuellement. Le catalogue en ligne de la Collection d’art flamande et les musées numériques -comme celui dédié à James Ensor - sont aussi alimentés par les données de ce fichier. Améliorer l'accessibilité du catalogue de la collection par le biais de l'Internet est une priorité absolue du département d'Étude de la collection.

Catalogues imprimés

En 2010, le KMSKA s'est lancé dans la préparation d'un nouveau catalogue imprimé de la collection des œuvres picturales, à partir de la banque de données numériques. Avec cette publication, le musée entend perpétuer une longue tradition dans le domaine des catalogues de musée. Depuis l'édition des derniers catalogues des peintures (1977 et 1988), les recherches se sont poursuivies et la collection 'est entre-temps considérablement enrichie. Une édition pratique qui donne un aperçu actualisé de la riche collection de peintures, et qui répondra à la demande des chercheurs, aussi bien qu'à celle des visiteurs du musée. Enfin, la banque de données forme aussi le point de départ de l'édition de sous-catalogues et de la composition des présentations de collection analogiques et numériques.

share

Services administratifs

Lange Kievitstraat 111-113 bus 100, B-2018 Antwerpen

T +32 (0)3 224 95 50