General information


Koningin Fabiolazaal
Jezusstraat 28
2000 Antwerp

Opening hours

From 19 September 2015 to 3 January 2016


Opening hours


10am - 5pm


10am - 6pm

MO Closed

Last admissions are 30 minutes before closing time. Closed on Mondays, 25 & 26 December and 1 & 2 January

Admission fees

Fees Target group
€ 4 General fee
€ 3

Groups (at least 15 persons)

€ 1 19 - 25
€ 0

Friends of the KMSKA

Guided tours

For groups

Walk & Talk

Together with the guide you will find out why people are affected by art. 

Maximum 20 participants
Price: € 75 (+ admission fee) , € 50 for a school
Duration: 1 hour and a half


Please make reservations at least three weeks prior to your visit by filling in the online form. We will contact you in order to confirm your reservation.


T +32 (0)3 224 95 61

The Moderns. Choice Art


Date 19/09/2015 - 03/01/2016

For the last time The Moderns are the guests of the Koningin Fabiolazaal. For the final exhibition we asked 40 well-known and lesser-known Flemings to choose their favourite work of art from the KMSKA's and Province of Antwerp's nineteenth and twentieth-century collections. We also wanted to know why they chose that one particular work. The result is a varied and exciting selection, a miscellany of colourful stories.


On Thursday the 24th and the 31st the exhibition will close at 2 pm. The exhibition will be closed on Friday the 25th and Saturday the 26th & on Friday the First of January and Saturday the 2nd of January.

Campagnebeeld Uitverkoren

The exhibition that rounds off The Moderns series is entitled Choice Art. Besides revealing the masterpieces they are fondest of, the guest curators also share their personal stories with us. They have a shrewd eye, their statements are passionate and a delight to read. Anecdotes, unexpected angles, sometimes pure poetry and occasionally a touch of humour. Their choice of artwork tells us what it is they find attractive, moving, inspirational or special.

We asked Ghent photographer Jacques Sonck, well-known for his striking black and white portraits of slightly eccentric fellow human beings, to take a photograph of each guest curator with the work he or she chose. Those pictures are presented as a coda to the exhibition.

Choice Art presents the works chosen by (among others) Johan Bonny, Marc Didden, Ruth Joos and Bent Van Looy, but also those picked out by museum guide Christien Deblaere, visitor Tonia In den Kleef and art handler Hans De Kezel. On show are 30 works from the KMSKA collection and ten from the Province of Antwerp collection.

Works of art by: Jan Van Beers, Camiel Van Breedam, George Hendrik Breitner, Jean Brusselmans, Pol Bury, Alexandre Cabanel, Robert Van Cauwenberghe, David Claerbout, Emile Claus, Jan Cockx, Edward Deckers, Denmark, Jan Dries, James Ensor, Dr. Hugo Heyrman, Raoul Hynckes, Paul Joostens, Jean Paul Laenen, René Magritte, Pol Mara, Guy Mees, George Minne, Amedeo Modigliani, Maryam Najd, Ria Pacquée, Otto Piene, Henriëtte Ronner-Knip, Jules Schmalzigaug, Jacques Sonck, Léon Spilliaert, Camille Sturbelle, Guy Vandenbranden, Theodoor Verstraete, Emile Vloors, Gustave Van De Woestyne en Rik Wouters.

Chosen by: Johan Bonny, Vaast Colson, Christien Deblaere, Bernard Dewulf, Marc Didden, Adil El Arbi, Sihame El Kaouakibi, Ephameron, Rita Fonseca, Elise Gacoms, Kersten Geers + David Van Severen, Tom Hautekiet, Frank Heirman, Henri De Herdt, Herman Houbrechts, Tonia In den Kleef, Ruth Joos, Hans De Kezel, Thomas Leysen, Tom Liekens, Bent Van Looy, Ko Markovsky, Rosan Meijer, Nadia Naveau, Johan Pas, Adriaan Raemdonck, Sven De Ridder, Marie Thérèse Room, Paul De Roy, Lieve en Linde Ruwet, Walter Rycquart, Manfred Sellink, Jacques Sonck, Hilde Vanfleteren, Yoeri Vanlangendonck, Veerle Vercammen, Cil De Vylder, Sara Weyns en Jesse Willems.

In collaboration with the Province of Antwerp.

Logo's Provincie Antwerpen en KMSKA Dicht maar dichtbij


The Moderns. Choice Art

  • Ephameron & Theodoor Verstraete (click to enlarge; use the escape key to close the window)

    Ephameron & Theodoor Verstraete

  • Marc Didden & Robert Van Cauwenberghe (click to enlarge; use the escape key to close the window)

    Marc Didden & Robert Van Cauwenberghe

  • Sihame El Kaouakibi & Jean Paul Laenen (click to enlarge; use the escape key to close the window)

    Sihame El Kaouakibi & Jean Paul Laenen

  • Adriaan Raemdonck & Jean Brusselmans (click to enlarge; use the escape key to close the window)

    Adriaan Raemdonck & Jean Brusselmans

  • Elise Gacoms & Emile Vloors (click to enlarge; use the escape key to close the window)

    Elise Gacoms & Emile Vloors

  • Manfred Sellink & Jules Schmalzigaug (click to enlarge; use the escape key to close the window)

    Manfred Sellink & Jules Schmalzigaug

  • Cil De Vylder & Jan Cockx (click to enlarge; use the escape key to close the window)

    Cil De Vylder & Jan Cockx

  • Frank Heirman & Paul Joostens (click to enlarge; use the escape key to close the window)

    Frank Heirman & Paul Joostens

Museum offices

Lange Kievitstraat 111-113 bus 100, B-2018 Antwerpen

T +32 (0)3 224 95 50