All articles

Rubens in LA

Restoration

Two paintings by Peter Paul Rubens are in Los Angeles right now undergoing conservation treatment. We talked to Gwen Borms, the head of our conservation studio, about the ins and outs of long-distance conservation.

Read more
Portret van Gwen Borms

Two works by Rubens from the KMSKA collection recently travelled to LA for the Rubens – Picturing Antiquity exhibition at the J. Paul Getty Museum. COVID-19 had other ideas, however, and the Getty was forced to postpone its prestigious Rubens exhibition for a year. Did the paintings have to come home early, then? Fortunately not! During their extended stay, the two panels are being treated at the renowned American museum’s conservation studio. Having waved them off on their journey, Gwen Borms talks to us here about the ins and outs of long-distance conservation.

Schilderijen Heilige drievuldigheid en Jan-Gaspard Gevartius van Peter Paul Rubens
Two works by Rubens have travelled to LA Left: Holy Trinity – Right: Jan Gaspard Gevartius

While we were all safely at home, the Holy Trinity and the Portrait of Jan Gaspard Gevartius crossed the Atlantic. The two oil paintings on panel need conservation treatment for a variety of reasons.

 

Kari Rayner is taking care of the Gevartius portrait, while Devi Ormond will conserve the Holy Trinity. The conservators will be supported and advised throughout by the Getty Museum’s Senior Curator Ulrich Birkmaier.

 

 

Jan-Gaspard Gevartius

What’s up with this portrait? Find out which issues the conservator is tackling in Los Angeles.

Do we often send our works to other museums for conservation?

Gwen Borms: ‘I wouldn’t say often. Most conservation work is obviously carried out in our own studio, which is working flat out. I’d say we have about one or two works a year treated at other institutions. The Kunsthistorisches Museum in Vienna, for instance, was responsible for conserving our Venus Frigida – another work by Rubens. And the Mauritshuis in The Hague recently restored Jan Steen’s Wedding Party for us. This isn’t the first time we’ve collaborated with the Getty, by the way: their studio previously conserved two panels by Gerard David.’

Win-win situation

Why choose another museum’s conservation studio for these projects?

Gwen Borms: ‘One of the main reasons is the exchange of knowledge. It’s a good way of keeping up with the latest developments in the field. The conservation of artworks is evolving all the time so it’s important to keep abreast of what’s going on internationally. In this particular case, the Getty is also funding the entire treatment, including the transport costs. In return, one of the works is being loaned to the exhibition they’re organizing. So it’s a win-win situation.’

Holy Trinity

Why did this Rubens panel require conservation? We list the various issues.

So everybody benefits! Or are there also drawbacks to external conservation?

Gwen Borms: ‘It’s obviously a bit harder to monitor a project like this from our end. The distance means we can’t physically examine the works on a regular basis. It means a huge amount of visual material has to be sent back and forth, which makes decision-making more complex and slower.’

How can you control what happens in LA from here?

Gwen Borms: ‘We’re in regular digital consultation with the conservators, who share everything with us. And we do the same: we make all the information, archive documents and literature available to each other. Before we dispatched the works, we thoroughly studied and photographed them. They also received preliminary conservation treatment here to ensure they could be safely transported to America.’

The conservation of artworks is evolving all the time so it’s important to keep abreast of what’s going on internationally.

Gwen Borms

What kind of things do you discuss during your digital consultation?

Gwen Borms: ‘The condition of the works and what techniques and materials might be used during their treatment. We also discuss the results of the research carried out before conservation and work together to find solutions to physical and technical issues. The panel with the Portrait of Jan Gaspar Gevartius is very fragile, for instance, with several cracks along the joints. Before they can be repaired, we need to find out what caused them.’

If it hadn’t been for Covid-19, would you have gone to Los Angeles to follow the process more closely?

Gwen Borms: ‘I’d have loved to! (laughs).’

Like to support our conservation work? Make a donation!

The King Baudouin Foundation supports the conservation of masterpieces in the KMSKA collection. Annual donations above 40 euros qualify for tax relief of 45% on the amount donated.

Donate online!

Tous les articles

Rubens à L.A.

Restauration

Deux tableaux de Peter Paul Rubens bénéficient d’un traitement de restauration à Los Angeles. Un entretien avec Gwen Borms (chef d’atelier de restauration) au sujet des restaurations à distance.

En savoir plus
Portret van Gwen Borms

Deux œuvres de Rubens de la collection du KMSKA ont récemment fait le voyage à L.A. pour l'exposition intitulée « Picturing Antiquity » au J. Paul Getty Museum. Mais Covid-19 en a décidé autrement. Le musée a dû reporter sa prestigieuse exposition Rubens d'un an. Cela signifie-t-il la fin de leur séjour ? Fort heureusement, ce n’est pas le cas puisque pendant leur séjour prolongé l'atelier de restauration du célèbre institut américain se chargera de la restauration de deux tableaux. Gwen Borms, maintenant loin de ces œuvres, nous fait part des interventions qui se déroulent à distance.

Schilderijen Heilige drievuldigheid en Jan-Gaspard Gevartius van Peter Paul Rubens
Deux œuvres de Rubens ont fait le voyage à Los Angeles. À gauche : La Sainte Trinité - À droite : Jan-Gaspar Gevartius

Pendant que nous restons confinés, elles traversent l'océan Atlantique : Le portrait de Jan-Gaspar Gevartius et La Sainte Trinité. Deux peintures à l'huile sur panneau qui nécessitent une restauration pour diverses raisons.

 

Kari Rayner se chargera du Portrait de Gevartius. Devi Ormond prendra soin de La Sainte Trinité. Les deux restauratrices seront assistées par Ulrich Birkmaier, conservateur principal du musée J. Paul Getty.

 

 

Jan-Gaspard Gevartius

Quels sont les problèmes avec le portrait ? Découvrez les questions auxquelles la restauratrice sera confrontée à Los Angeles.

Confie-t-on souvent nos restaurations à d'autres musées ?

Gwen Borms: « Souvent, c’est exagéré. La plupart des restaurations ont bien sûr lieu dans notre propre atelier qui tourne à plein régime.  Nous faisons restaurer chaque année une ou deux œuvres par d'autres institutions. Ainsi, le Kunsthistorisches Museum de Vienne a été chargé de la restauration de notre Venus Frigida, qui est également une œuvre de Rubens. Et puis, le musée Mauritshuis a récemment restauré pour nous La Fête de noce de Jan Steen. Ce n'est pas la première fois que nous collaborons avec le musée J. Paul Getty. Auparavant, leur atelier a également restauré deux panneaux de Gérard David. »

Une belle contrepartie

Pourquoi optons-nous de confier ces projets à l’atelier de restauration d'un autre musée ?

Gwen Borms: « Une raison importante, c’est l'échange de connaissances.  C'est une façon de rester informé des nouveaux développements dans le domaine. Le monde de la restauration est en permanente évolution. Il est important de rester au courant de ce qui se passe au niveau international.  Dans ce cas précis, le musée J. Paul Getty prend totalement en charge la restauration y compris le transport. Cela s’explique par le fait que l'une des œuvres a été demandée en prêt pour une exposition qu'ils organisent. Une belle contrepartie, n’est-ce pas ? »

La Sainte Trinité

Pourquoi faut-il restaurer ce panneau de Rubens ? Faisons le point de tous les problèmes.

Rien que des avantages ! Ou y a-t-il des inconvénients à une restauration externe ?

Gwen Borms: « Bien sûr, il est un peu plus difficile de suivre un tel projet d’ici. Du fait de la grande distance, nous ne sommes pas en mesure d'étudier physiquement les œuvres de façon régulière. Beaucoup d'informations visuelles sont envoyées dans les deux sens. Cela rend le processus décisionnel plus compliqué et plus lent. »

Comment pouvez-vous contrôler d'ici ce qui se passe à L.A. ?

Gwen Borms: « Il y a une consultation numérique régulière avec les conservateurs qui partagent tout avec nous. Il en va de même pour nous. Nous partageons toutes les informations, les documents d'archives et publications. Avant le départ des œuvres, nous les avons dûment étudiées et photographiées. Elles ont aussi reçu une intervention de conservation afin que leur transport vers les États-Unis soit sans risque.»

Le monde de la restauration est en permanente évolution. Il est important de rester au courant de ce qui se passe au niveau international.

Gwen Borms

Quel est le contenu de vos discussions lors de vos concertations numériques ?

Gwen Borms: « L'état des œuvres ainsi que les techniques et matériaux potentiellement utilisés pendant le traitement. Nous abordons également les résultats de l’étude préalable à la restauration et nous cherchons ensemble des réponses aux questions relatives aux matériaux et techniques. Le panneau du portrait de Jan-Gaspar Gevartius, par exemple, est très fragile. Il y a plusieurs fissures le long des joints. Avant de pouvoir les restaurer, nous devons connaître leur origine. »

Dans une situation sanitaire normale, vous vous seriez rendue à L.A. pour assurer le suivi de la restauration ?

Gwen Borms: « Avec grand plaisir. » (rires)

Soutenez la restauration et faites un don !

La Fondation Roi Baudouin contribue à la restauration des chefs-d'œuvre de la collection du KMSKA. Les dons à partir de 40 € à la Fondation donnent lieu à une réduction d'impôt de 45 % du montant effectivement versé.

Faites un don en ligne!