All articles

Diverse and inclusive: just buzzwords?

Opinion

What do young people dream of when they think about art museums and the future KMSKA?

Read more
Portret Somto Offor door Marco Mertens
Portrait of Somto Offor Marco Mertens

Somto Offor is 23 years old. She is studying Political Science at Leuven University (KUL).

What do young people nowadays expect of the KMSKA? That’s the question I was invited to answer for the museum’s magazine, ZAAL Z. I admit that I’ve often thought I don’t ‘get’ art: that it’s not my thing. On reflection, though, I was being too hasty. Good art always manages to draw an emotional response from the viewer: possibly admiration, but also confusion or indifference. I’ve come to realize that the way I used to feel about art might have less to do with my experience of it than with what museums and other institutions hold out to us as ‘art’.

It might be a cliché for me, as a black woman, to say that most of the museums I’ve ever been to offer their visitors an image of art that is Western or Eurocentric, but I stand by that. The same vision is deeply engrained in art histories as well: everyone knows Michelangelo, Van Eyck and Picasso, but how many influential non-Western artists or artists can you name? The global museum space is still dominated by men, but what about female artists? Women are certainly an integral part of art: they, or their naked bodies, feature often enough as subject matter. But they should be equally acknowledged as artists too.

Everyone knows Michelangelo, Van Eyck and Picasso, but how many influential non-Western artists or artists can you name?

Somto Offor

I’m not talking about setting quotas for art museums: that shouldn’t be where we start. We constantly hear about ‘diversity’ and ‘inclusiveness’ these days, but I continue to treat those terms critically: they often seem more like buzzwords than a fundamental recognition of how things are. Even though diversity and inclusiveness are really just the logical development of our steadily evolving society. The way we interpret art isn’t straightforward either: it should always remain open to what is new.

I was in Rotterdam last summer to visit the exhibition Street Dreams: How Hip Hop Took on Fashion at the Kunsthal. An event like that, which explored hip hop’s influence on fashion and pop culture, is easily pigeonholed as atypical and as ‘urban art’. But it was there that I finally felt a sense of ‘this is art’ on seeing a gigantic photograph of Christopher Wallace and Sean Combs – better known as The Notorious B.I.G and P. Diddy. It’s highly subjective, I know: I’ve been a fan of their music since I was a child. But what I’m also trying to express is that regardless of the past, it should no longer be up to one limited and privileged group of people to decide what is and is not art. Or that artists are mostly white men. That’s what I felt there and then.

The experience of art is as diverse as society. Reflecting that ought to be a museum’s ideal. And that’s what I hope to be able to see in the KMSKA’s future exhibitions.

Free magazine

Read the free KMSKA magazine quartly with interviews, artworks and more (in Dutch)

Subscribe now

Tous les articles

Diversité et inclusion, des mots à la mode ?

Point de vue

À quoi rêvent les jeunes quand ils pensent aux musées et au KMSKA ?

En savoir plus
Portret Somto Offor door Marco Mertens
Portret Somto Offor Marco Mertens

Somto Offor, 23, étudie les sciences politiques à la KU Leuven.                          

Je dois avouer que j’ai longtemps pensé ne rien comprendre à l’art. Ce n’était ‘pas mon truc’ pour être franche. J’ai compris que ma conclusion était un peu hâtive. L’art de qualité parvient toujours à déclencher quelque chose chez le spectateur, que ce soit l’admiration, l’interrogation, voire l’indifférence. En y pensant, je ne crois pas que l’indifférence venait nécessairement de moi, mais peut-être de ce que les musées et autres institutions du genre avaient à offrir.

Cette réflexion sera peut-être mise sur le compte de ma condition de femme noire, mais je persiste à penser que la plupart des musées que j’ai visités offrent une vue occidentale ou euro-centrée de l’art. C’est d’ailleurs très net quand on considère l’histoire de l’art : tout le monde connaît Michel-Ange, Van Eyck et Picasso, mais combien d’artistes de renom non-occidentaux-les peut-on citer ? Les hommes partout dans le monde s’accaparent les salles de musées, mais où sont les femmes artistes ? Difficile pourtant d’imaginer l’art sans la présence des femmes. Elles sont omniprésentes dans les œuvres d’art, souvent nues d’ailleurs. Qu’on lui donne enfin leur place au panthéon des artistes !   

Tout le monde connaît Michel-Ange, Van Eyck et Picasso, mais combien d’artistes de renom non-occidentaux-les peut-on citer ?

Somto Offor

Pas question pourtant d’introduire des quotas dans les musées d’art. Les termes ‘diversité’ et ‘inclusion’ sont très en vogue, mais je m’en méfie : ils ressemblent davantage à des slogans qu’à une reconnaissance fondamentale. L’interprétation de l’art ne peut pas non plus aller de soi et il faut toujours rester ouvert à la nouveauté.                  

Je suis allée l’été dernier à Rotterdam, où j’ai visité l’exposition Street Dreams: How Hiphop took over Fashion au Kunsthal qui traitait de l’influence du hiphop sur la mode et la culture pop. Un tel thème d’exposition est d’emblée considéré comme atypique et classé sous le label ‘urban art’. Et pourtant devant certaines pièces exposées, je me suis dit ‘ça c’est de l’art’, comme devant une très grande photo de Christopher Wallace et Sean Combs, mieux connus sous le nom The Notorious B.I.G et P. Diddy. C’est très subjectif, je le sais puisque petite déjà, j’adorais leur musique. Mais ce que j’essaye de dire, c’est qu’indépendamment du passé, un groupe restreint de privilégiés ne peut plus décider ce qui est de l’art et ce qui n’en est pas. Ni que les artistes sont essentiellement des hommes blancs. C’est ce que j’ai ressenti à l’exposition du Kunsthal.

L’expérience de l’art est aussi diversifiée que la société. Cette réflexion doit être le principe qui anime un musée. Et c’est ce que j’espère voir dans les expositions futures du KMSKA.

Magazine du musée gratuite

Soyez enrichi et lisez notre magazine gratuit ZAAL Z. Avec des interviews, des œuvres d'art et plus encore.

Abonnez-vous maintenant