Imagine that you could play musical instruments from the 15th century. What would they sound like? The Oltremontano historical wind ensemble had the instruments featured in Memling’s God the Father with Singing and Music-making Angels reconstructed so they could play them themselves. The première of their angelic concert was held on 19 August 2019. Here you can read about the challenges that Oltremontano faced in bringing about this unique performance.

The KMSKA’s Artists in Residence programme was launched at the beginning of 2017 with Oltremontano as one of our 20 resident artists. Shortly after that, KMSKA’s conservators rounded off their marathon treatment of the three panels that together form Memling’s God the Father with Singing and Music-making Angels. Wim Becu, Oltremontano’s artistic director, saw the work in all its glory. Such refinement on such an immense scale! What if he and his ensemble were able to play the depicted instruments? It was the beginning of a process packed with challenges.

Schilderij Christus met zingende en musicerende engelen van Hans Memling
God the Father with Singing and Music-making Angels Hans Memling

Challenge 1: What instruments are they exactly?

God and his angels are just part of what was once a gigantic altarpiece, the other panels of which have been lost. The scale of the paintings are such that the instruments are depicted almost life-sized and with great precision. That makes them a rich source of reference for musicologists. It is not unprecedented for historical instruments to be reconstructed. But this was the first time it had been attempted for the Memling instruments.

 

Detail van blaasinstrumenten op het schilderij van Hans Memling
Memling instruments Detail of wind instruments
Detail van een psalterium op het schilderij van Memling
Memling instruments Detail of a psaltery
Detail van een luit op het schilderij van Hans Memling
Memling instruments Detail of a lute

Wim Becu immersed himself in his research, assisted by several experts. They were certainly needed, as Memling left a number of questions unanswered. The conservators discovered differences, for instance, between the underdrawing and the painting. That made it difficult in some cases to identify an instrument. And you obviously have to know precisely what you’re looking at before you can reconstruct it.

Challenge 2: Who could build the instruments?

The Centrum voor Muziekinstrumentenbouw (CMB) in Puurs, Antwerp Province, was chosen for the wooden instruments and the Dutch instrument maker Geert Jan Vanderheide for the various trumpets. For all its accuracy, Memling’s depiction remains a two-dimensional image. So it was far from easy to convert the instruments into 3D plans with down-to-earth measurements. A great deal of thought also had to be given to the choice of materials. The students at the CMB completed their instruments with immense patience and craft.

Het maakproces van een buisine in zes stappen
Construction process The different steps in building a buisine

Challenge 3: What music do angels play?

In the meantime, Wim Becu continued to delve into musical history using the altarpiece as his guide. The angels are arranged in a specific way. Memling positioned the ones playing the softer-sounding instruments at the end of the panels, for instance. The angels playing the more strident wind instruments, meanwhile, stand around the choristers. All of which was important information in the quest for appropriate music. And there was a further difficulty: to play some of the instruments, the musicians had to learn a different technique.

Rechterpaneel van Christus met zingende en musicerende engelen van Hans Memling
Right-hand panel The softer-sounding instruments are located at the end of the panels.

Challenge 4: Could Oltremontano live up to the sound of a grand angelic concert?

Having recruited the ladies of the vocal ensemble Psallentes, Oltremontano knew it could count on appropriately angelic singing. The vocalists had just started work on a new programme – To Memling – in which they literally sing Memling’s words. A match made in heaven, you might say. But it was no small challenge. In the late Middle Ages, angelic music was considered the ultimate expression of beauty.

Groepsfoto Psallentes
Psallentes Foto ©Wouter Van Varenbergh

And after the concert?

Oltremontano’s instruments and music will be given a permanent place in the new museum, near the Memling panels. Oltremontano will also release a CD of the music.

 

In collaboration with AMUZ.

Et si vous pouviez jouer des instruments du XVe siècle ? Quel son retentira ? Oltremontano, l'ensemble à vent historique, a fait reconstruire les instruments de musique qui figurent sur le tableau Dieu le Père entouré d'anges chanteurs et musiciens de Hans Memling. Puis, il s'est attelé à la tâche de les faire résonner à nouveau. La première mondiale de leur concert d’anges eut lieu le 19 août. Lisez tout sur les défis auxquels Oltremontano a été confrontés pour réaliser ce concert unique.

Début 2017, le programme « Artistes en résidence » du KMSKA débutait avec Oltremontano parmi nos vingt artistes. Peu de temps après, les restaurateurs du KMSKA mettaient la toute dernière main sur la restauration marathon des trois panneaux qui forment l’ensemble Dieu le Père entouré d’anges chanteurs et musiciens de Memling. Wim Becu, le directeur artistique d'Oltremontano, voyait l'œuvre dans toute sa splendeur : Que de raffinement sur une si grande surface ! Et si lui et son ensemble pouvaient jouer sur les instruments représentés sur le tableau ? Ce fut le début d'un processus artistique riche en défis.

Schilderij Christus met zingende en musicerende engelen van Hans Memling
Dieu le Père entouré d’anges chanteurs et musiciens Hans Memling

Défi 1 : De quels instruments parlons-nous?

Dieu et ses anges ne sont qu'une partie de ce qui était autrefois un retable monumental dont les autres panneaux ont disparu. En raison de la taille de l’œuvre, les instruments sont presque grandeur nature et représentés avec une grande précision. Ils constituent donc un point de référence précieux pour les musicologues. La reconstruction d'instruments historiques est fréquente, mais en ce qui concerne les instruments de Memling, c'était la première fois.

 

Detail van blaasinstrumenten op het schilderij van Hans Memling
Instruments de Memling Détail des instruments à vent
Detail van een psalterium op het schilderij van Memling
Instruments de Memling Détail d’un tambourin à cordes
Detail van een luit op het schilderij van Hans Memling
Instruments de Memling Détail d'un luth

Wim Becu approfondissait ses recherches sur les instruments, épaulé par plusieurs experts, ce qui n’était pas un luxe superflu car le tableau de Memling suscitait des interrogations. Ainsi, les restaurateurs avaient découvert que le dessin sous-jacent et la version finale du tableau diffèrent par endroits ce qui compliquait parfois l'identification d'un instrument. Il importe, de toute évidence, de savoir de quel instrument il s’agît avant de le reconstruire.

Défi 2: Qui peut fabriquer les instruments?

Pour les instruments en bois, le choix s’est porté sur le Centre pour la  construction des instruments de musique (CMB) à Puurs, tandis que le Néerlandais Geert Jan Vanderheide a réalisé les différentes trompettes. Les instruments de Memling, bien que représentés avec une énorme précision, ne sont qu’une image en 2D. Leur donner corps en 3D dans des proportions terrestres n'était pas chose facile. La sélection des matériaux a été également mûrement réfléchie.

Het maakproces van een buisine in zes stappen
Processus de fabrication Les différentes étapes de la fabrication d'une buisine

Défi 3: Quelle musique jouent les anges?

Entre-temps, Wim Becu poursuivait ses recherches sur l'histoire de la musique, avec toujours le retable comme point de départ. Les anges sont disposés suivant un ordre précis. Aux extrémités des panneaux, Memling a peint les anges qui jouent des instruments à sonorité douce. Autour des anges chanteurs se tiennent les anges qui jouent des instruments à vent au son plus aigu. Ces observations constituaient des informations importantes pour trouver une musique adéquate. Que certains instruments exigent de la part des musiciens l'apprentissage d'une technique de jeu complètement différente, était une difficulté supplémentaire.

Rechterpaneel van Christus met zingende en musicerende engelen van Hans Memling
Le panneau droit Aux extrémités des panneaux se situent les instruments à sonorité douce.

Défi 4: Oltremontano peut-il égaler le son d'un grand concert angélique?

Avec les femmes de l'ensemble vocal Psallentes (ceux qui chantent) à ses côtés, Oltremontano a indubitablement trouvé la voie d’un chant angélique. Psallentes venait tout juste de lancer un nouveau programme, To Memling, dans lequel elles chantent littéralement les œuvres de Memling. A match made in heaven. Le défi n’était tout de même pas négligeable. À la fin du Moyen Âge, la musique d’anges fut considérée comme la plus haute expression de la beauté.

Groepsfoto Psallentes
Psallentes Photo ©Wouter Van Varenbergh

Et après le concert ?

Les instruments et la musique d'Oltremontano auront une place permanente dans le nouveau musée où ils seront exposés près des panneaux de Memling. Oltremontano prépare également un CD qui sortira plus tard dans l'année. 

 

En collaboration avec AMUZ.