New EP from Het Zesde Metaal: Meesters. For their new set, the band drew inspiration from six paintings from the museum collection. They performed the material on 11, 12 and 13 January 2019 at the museum construction site. Frontman Wannes Cappelle describes the creative process from image to song.

Wannes Cappelle is the frontman of Het Zesde Metaal, author of the Flemish classic Bloemaert, joint scriptwriter of the acclaimed Canvas series Duverger and now also the holder of a residency at the KMSKA. Wannes is known for his poetic lyrics and the disarming honesty with which he performs his music

Wannes Cappelle, de frontman van Het Zesde Metaal
Wannes Cappelle, frontman of Het Zesde Metaal Photograph: Jesse Willems

When the museum offered you a residency, did you know straight away what you wanted to do?

Cappelle: ‘I didn’t have an idea immediately, but I often find it fun when the initiative for something comes from outside. You know that whatever emerges from it won’t be something you’d have come up with by yourself. In fact, we always try to do a project between albums to give us chance to recharge our batteries. So this came around at just the right time.’

Biting the hand

To create Meesters [‘Masters’] you picked out six works and then composed songs about them. How did that creative process work, from image to music?

Cappelle: ‘Robin [Aerts, bassist and co-writer for Het Zesde Metaal] and I are storytellers at heart, so what fascinated us most was the story behind the painting. We chose Fouquet’s Madonna because we’d been told it was part of a diptych that had been reunited for the first time in centuries at an exhibition in Berlin. That was a nice story and gave us our initial angle. But the more we read about the work, the more intrigued we became by the story of the patron, Etienne Chevalier, who was the treasurer of King Charles VII of France. Chevalier commissioned a portrait of himself praying to the Virgin Mary to intercede for his dead wife.

Zaalzicht van de Melundiptiek
Jean Fouquet’s ‘Melun Diptych’

Temporarily reunited in Berlin in the autumn of 2017

‘I couldn’t help feeling that out of the three figures in the diptych, Etienne was depicted as pretty ugly. You really wouldn’t want to be that guy. It’s as if Fouquet was thinking: ‘What a jerk!’ Then you have the fact that the model for this Madonna was Charles VII’s mistress, Agnès Sorel, who had already died by that point. The king of France must have found it pretty weird, I thought, to see a painting showing his treasurer worshipping his dead mistress. It struck me that Fouquet might have been mocking Chevalier without him realizing it. Biting the hand that feeds. The way orators in classical antiquity occasionally mocked their emperors. We thought: imagine that Etienne Chevalier asked us to write a song about him for the Virgin Mary. The idea would be for us to write lyrics that made him sound good, but would actually make us, as lyricists, sound even better. Without him realizing it.’

‘We always try to do a project between albums to give us chance to recharge our batteries.’

Wannes Cappelle, Het Zesde Metaal

Don’t finish me

Three of the six songs are about holy women. Why did they appeal to you?

Cappelle: ‘Ha! You’re right: I hadn’t spotted that. If I have to give an explanation, it was probably more a question of the narrative character of those works catching my attention. The song Maak mie nie af [‘Don’t Finish Me’], based on St Barbara by Jan van Eyck, is actually very ambiguous. The painting is unfinished, with half of it still in dead colour. But Barbara also ends up being finished off by her father. To me, the painting is about the relationship with that parent, who wants all sorts of things for her that she herself doesn’t want. Jean Fouquet’s Madonna is obviously a magnificent piece of work, but the story was what swung it for us in that case too. We chose Mary Magdalene by Quentin Massys because we had the idea of using the line “Blessed art thou among women”. We actually looked for a painting to fit that idea. The picture was basically a pretext for writing the song (laughs).’

Schilderij Heilige Barbara van Nicomedië van Jan van Eyck
Inspiration ‘St Barbara of Nicomedia’ by Jan van Eyck provided the inspiration for the song ‘Maak mie nie af’.

Alongside the songs, there are four instrumentals on the EP described as ‘Unknown Masters’. What was the thinking in that case?

Alongside the songs, there are four instrumentals on the EP described as ‘Unknown Masters’. What was the thinking in that case?

‘Meesters’ was produced as part of the KMSKA’s Artists in Residence’ programme and was realized with the support of the Flemish Arts Decree.

This article is an abridged version of Fleur van Paassen and Wouter van de Koot’s interview with Wannes Cappelle in the December 2018 issue of our museum magazine Zaal Z.

Het Zesde Metaal a sorti un nouvel album : Meesters. Le groupe s’est inspiré de six toiles dans la collection du KMSKA. De l’image à la musique, le processus de création nous est expliqué par le chanteur Wannes Cappelle.

Wannes Cappelle est la voix de Het Zesde Metaal, l’auteur du classique flamand Ploegsteert, le coscénariste de la série télévisée sur Canvas Bevergem et maintenant artiste en résidence au KMSKA. Wannes est connu pour ses inventions poétiques et la désarmante honnêteté de son interprétation.

Wannes Cappelle, de frontman van Het Zesde Metaal
Wannes Cappelle, chanteur de Het Zesde Metaal Phto: Jesse Willems

Aviez-vous déjà une idée en tête quand on vous a proposé cette résidence au musée ?

Cappelle : “Non, je n’avais pas vraiment d’idée précise, mais je suis toujours ouvert aux propositions. Je sais alors qu’il en sortira quelque chose auquel je n’aurai pas nécessairement pensé sans y être invité. En fait, nous essayons toujours entre deux albums de participer à un projet qui nous donne l’occasion de nous ressourcer. Cette résidence est donc venue au bon moment.”

Peu fréquentable

Vous avez choisi pour Meesters six œuvres dont vous avez tiré une chanson. Vous pouvez nous en dire un peu plus sur le processus de création ?

Cappelle : “Robin (Aerts, bassiste et co-compositeur de Het Zesde Metaal, ndlr.) et moi, nous sommes plutôt des conteurs. C’est donc l’histoire derrière la toile qui nous intéressait avant tout. Nous avions choisi la Madone de Fouquet parce qu’on nous avait dit qu’elle appartenait à un diptyque dont les volets avaient été séparés pendant très longtemps et étaient à nouveau réunis pour une exposition à Berlin. L’histoire nous a beaucoup plu et c’est devenu notre angle d’approche. Mais plus nous nous informions à propos de cette œuvre, plus nous nous sommes intéressés à l’histoire du commanditaire, Etienne Chevalier, le trésorier du roi de France Charles VII. Il commande son propre portrait alors qu’il conjure la Sainte Vierge de prier pour son épouse qui vient de mourir.”

Zaalzicht van de Melundiptiek
Le diptyque de Melun de Jean Fouquet

Exceptionnellement réunis à Berlin à l’automne 2017

“Je ne pouvais pas m’empêcher de penser que de tous les personnages du diptyque, cet Etienne est vraiment le plus laid. Une figure vraiment peu sympathique. On dirait même que Fouquet ne le portait pas dans son cœur! Et puis, il y a cette madone, qui est en fait la maîtresse de Karel VII, Agnès Sorel, qui vient juste de mourir. J’imagine que le roi de France a dû trouver étrange cette image de sa maîtresse adorée par son trésorier. Je me suis alors mis dans la tête que Fouquet voulait dénoncer le caractère peu fréquentable de Chevalier sans en avoir l’air, comme le faisaient les sages de l’Antiquité avec les empereurs. Nous nous sommes dit alors : imagine que cet Etienne Chevalier nous demande d’écrire pour lui un chant consacré à la Vierge. Nous écririons un texte qui en apparence le flatte, mais qui met surtout en avant notre talent de compositeur, et cela même sans qu’il s’en aperçoive.”

"Nous essayons toujours entre deux albums de participer à un projet qui nous donne l’occasion de nous ressourcer."

Wannes Cappelle, Het Zesde Metaal

Maak mie nie af

Trois des six morceaux portent sur des saintes ? Elles vous fascinent tout particulièrement ?

Cappelle : “Ah oui, c’est drôle, je n’y avais même pas pensé. Si je dois donner une explication, c’est probablement le caractère narratif de cette œuvres qui m’attire. Le morceau Maak mie nie af sur la Sainte Barbara de Van Eyck est en fait très ambigu. Le tableau n’est pas achevé, c’est même à peine plus qu’une ébauche, mais il s’agit bel et bien d’une mise à mort, celle de la sainte par son propre père. Cette œuvre évoque pour moi la relation au père, un père abusif qui veut soumettre sa fille à sa volonté. La Madone de Jean Fouquet est naturellement une œuvre magnifique, mais là aussi, c’est surtout le contexte qui m’a fasciné. Nous avons choisi la Marie Madeleine de Quentin Metsijs parce que nous voulions utiliser la phrase de l’Ave Maria “Vous êtes bénie entre toutes les femmes”. Nous avons donc chercher un tableau qui colle à cette image. Le tableau a été dans ce cas plutôt une excuse pour écrire ce morceau.”(rit)

Schilderij Heilige Barbara van Nicomedië van Jan van Eyck
Source d’inspiration Sainte Barbara de Nicodème de Jan van Eyck a inspiré au groupe le morceau Maak mie nie af

Il y a encore sur l’album quatre morceaux instrumentaux sous l’appellation ‘maîtres inconnus’. Expliquez-nous pourquoi ?

Cappelle : “C’était une idée de Robin, pour élargir un peu la notion de ‘maître’. Chaque membre du groupe a écrit un morceau instrumental basé sur l’œuvre d’un maître inconnu. Ces morceaux ont pris leur place parmi les autres.”

Meesters a été produit dans le cadre du programme ‘Artists in Residence’ du KMSKA et avec le soutien du Décret des Arts flamand.

 

Cet article est une version condensée de l’interview de Wannes Cappelle parue dans le numéro de décembre du magazine du musée Zaal Z.